Tags

,

That night when you kissed me
I left a poem in your mouth
You can hear some of the lines
Every time you breathe out
And it’s not the best thing I’ve ever written
I’m still working on my rhythm
My tongue gets tied sometimes
My throat gets dry
My hands start trembling
Honestly, the only thing I’ve ever mastered
Is how to write a really good ending
But I’m getting pretty tired of finish lines
So this morning I bought a needle and thread
And started stitching you a sunrise
And the seems are tattered and torn
Cause I got the cloth from an old shirt I was wearing
The first time this world started tearing me open
And I’ve been choking for my breath since then
Have you ever spent a whole year hoping
The morning wouldn’t come
I’ve had a band aid in one hand
In the other a gun
Something’s been screaming fire, kid
But something’s still screaming live
Write me a bridge away from the storm
I don’t know the words to the song you were born to sing
But I know your fingers will bleed when you play the chords
And maybe you’ll need me then like I need you now
When I say that I miss you I’ll mean something more
I mean I’ve been biding my time till you kiss me again
I keep poems like secrets then tell them when I’m tired
Of hiding who I am
I am missing you most
And the silence between songs are my favorite records
Sometimes it takes so long for the music to start
Is there a shoreline where the seaweed holds the rocks
So tight they soften into sand
Is it too late to say
That’s how my heart feels in your hands
Like you could sift it through an hourglass and
Pass it off as time never stood still
And neither did I but I will if you let me
In your arms I forget what the yarn knows of sweaters
I forget how to hold myself together
So if I unfold now like a love letter
Tell me you’ll write back soon
Tell me you’ll still come un-teathered
I saw the moon last night for the first time in months
She reminded me of you
Slouching stubborn in the light
I’d fight battles with the sun to rest against you tonight
To feel your breath on my pillow
Those songbirds outside your window
Are dropping feathers like I dropped words
I’m cold from all that came out wrong
I sleep alone now
Even when I don’t
I sleep backbone to floorboards
Cause they’re softer than regret
Don’t let me go
Don’t let me go yet
I traced your silhouette on the skyline
Your crooked spine bent meadows into mountains
I climbed to watch the sunset
The sky never looked so gorgeous
All those stars falling stars sick and tired of being famous
That man next door with his old violin
I swore his song could save us

